ptitSeb
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:30 pm

also @Vanfanel, I am curious, how did you compile gl4es if you don't have X11 installed, because X11 is linked and there are a few X11 calls in glx.c?

Vanfanel
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:40 am

@ptitSeb: Some X11 headers and libs seem to be installed on my system, but X11 runtime is not installed or running.
Since X11 is not running (using dispmanx with X11 running is not recommended at all), you can't count on it for anything really.
Does anybody have GL4GLES running without X11 on the Pi?

ptitSeb
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:03 am

@Vanfanel

Did you had some success using gl4es with LIBGL_GL=1 ? It should mainly use dispmanx and not much X11 in this configuration.

Vanfanel
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:29 am

ptitSeb wrote:@Vanfanel

Did you had some success using gl4es with LIBGL_GL=1 ? It should mainly use dispmanx and not much X11 in this configuration.
I went all the way, built and installed SDL 1.x and all it's deps, and trying LIBGL_FB=1 I get this with stuntcarremake:

Code: Select all

LIBGL: Initialising gl4es
LIBGL: v0.9.5 built on Apr  6 2017 12:03:46
LIBGL: framebuffer output enabled
LIBGL:loaded: libbcm_host.so
LIBGL:loaded: libvcos.so
LIBGL:loaded: libGLESv1_CM.so
LIBGL:loaded: libEGL.so
LIBGL: Extension glBlendColor found and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_framebuffer_object detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_depth24 detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_rgb8_rgba8 detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_EXT_texture_format_BGRA8888 detected and used
LIBGL: Max texture size: 2048
LIBGL: Texture Units: 4, Max lights: 8
LIBGL: Implementation Read is GL_RGBA/GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE
LIBGL: Current folder is:/home/pi/src/stuntcarremake
OpenGL not available
...and it goes back to the bash prompt.

Vanfanel
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:37 am

Also, the basic SDL 1.2 OpenGL test (included with SDL1 sources in ./tests) fails in the exact same way:

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~/src/sdl1/test $ LIBGL_FB=1 ./testgl 
LIBGL: Initialising gl4es
LIBGL: v0.9.5 built on Apr  6 2017 12:03:46
LIBGL: framebuffer output enabled
LIBGL:loaded: libbcm_host.so
LIBGL:loaded: libvcos.so
LIBGL:loaded: libGLESv1_CM.so
LIBGL:loaded: libEGL.so
LIBGL: Extension glBlendColor found and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_framebuffer_object detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_depth24 detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_rgb8_rgba8 detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_EXT_texture_format_BGRA8888 detected and used
LIBGL: Max texture size: 2048
LIBGL: Texture Units: 4, Max lights: 8
LIBGL: Implementation Read is GL_RGBA/GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE
LIBGL: Current folder is:/home/pi/src/sdl1/test
OpenGL not available
So, if the basic SDL1 test doesn't work, I believe nothing will.

ptitSeb
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:52 am

So error message is "OpenGL not available"? and that's it. Mmmmm, I'll try to dig in SDL sources to nderstand what is happening.

Vanfanel
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:42 am

ptitSeb wrote:So error message is "OpenGL not available"? and that's it. Mmmmm, I'll try to dig in SDL sources to nderstand what is happening.
Yes. There could be more non-readable text because SDL1 disables writting to the console at some point on the Pi without X.

ptitSeb
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:49 am

Indeed, that meesage comes from SDL, indicating it tries to create an opengl context but failed.

Can you try to uncomment line 32 of src/glx/glx.c of gl4es to have for logs, hopefully the logs will be writen somewhere and can be retreive in some way (did you try to redirect the console to a file also, just in case).

Vanfanel
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:41 am

ptitSeb wrote:Indeed, that meesage comes from SDL, indicating it tries to create an opengl context but failed.

Can you try to uncomment line 32 of src/glx/glx.c of gl4es to have for logs, hopefully the logs will be writen somewhere and can be retreive in some way (did you try to redirect the console to a file also, just in case).
The complete message is this:

Code: Select all

LIBGL: Initialising gl4es
LIBGL: v0.9.5 built on Apr  6 2017 12:03:46
LIBGL:loaded: libbcm_host.so
LIBGL:loaded: libvcos.so
LIBGL:loaded: libGLESv1_CM.so
LIBGL:loaded: libEGL.so
LIBGL: Extension glBlendColor found and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_framebuffer_object detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_depth24 detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_rgb8_rgba8 detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_EXT_texture_format_BGRA8888 detected and used
LIBGL: Max texture size: 2048
LIBGL: Texture Units: 4, Max lights: 8
LIBGL: Implementation Read is GL_RGBA/GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE
LIBGL: Current folder is:/home/pi/src/stuntcarremake
Couldn't set 640x480x32 video mode: OpenGL not available
I got it after redirecting output to file as you suggested.

Seems like SDL is trying to set a 640x480 32bpp video mode and fails. Changing physical resolution on the fly is not a good idea... What I always did with dispmanx was to keep the current resolution AND scale to whatever the current resolution is, using dispmanx for hardware scaling.

ptitSeb
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:55 am

Did you uncomment the line in glx.c? If yes, that's surprising because gl4es is not called at all.

The switching to 640x480 is from SDL, not gl4es, and I wonder what is it trying to do. If you compiled stuntcarremake for Linux (not for Pandora), it should try to open a 640x480 windowed + opengl mode (for Pandora, it will open a 800x480 fullscreen+opengl mode).

Vanfanel
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:09 am

@ptitSeb: yes, I uncommented line 32 as you said.
The SDL1 GL test (included on SDL 1.2.15 sources) says this:

Code: Select all

Couldn't set GL mode: OpenGL not available
LIBGL: Initialising gl4es
LIBGL: v0.9.5 built on Apr  6 2017 12:03:46
LIBGL: framebuffer output enabled
LIBGL:loaded: libbcm_host.so
LIBGL:loaded: libvcos.so
LIBGL:loaded: libGLESv1_CM.so
LIBGL:loaded: libEGL.so
LIBGL: Extension glBlendColor found and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_framebuffer_object detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_depth24 detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_OES_rgb8_rgba8 detected and used
LIBGL: Extension GL_EXT_texture_format_BGRA8888 detected and used
LIBGL: Max texture size: 2048
LIBGL: Texture Units: 4, Max lights: 8
LIBGL: Implementation Read is GL_RGBA/GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE
LIBGL: Current folder is:/home/pi/src/sdl1/test

ptitSeb
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:20 am

Mmmm, gl4es is not called at all :S

I have to look at SDL to understand how it create it's windows.

Can you give me the ./configure parameter you used tho build SDL?

Vanfanel
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:22 pm

ptitSeb wrote:Mmmm, gl4es is not called at all :S

I have to look at SDL to understand how it create it's windows.

Can you give me the ./configure parameter you used tho build SDL?
Yes. I use this version of SDL 1.x:

https://github.com/joolswills/sdl1

It's needed because stock SDL 1.2.15 is prone to hang on the Pi.
It's the version included in RetroPie.

The configure line I used is this one:

Code: Select all

./configure --enable-video-opengl --enable-video-dispmanx --enable-video-fbcon --disable-video-directfb --enable-cdrom --disable-oss --disable-alsatest --disable-pulseaudio --disable-pulseaudio-shared --disable-arts --disable-nas --disable-esd --disable-nas-shared --disable-diskaudio --disable-dummyaudio --disable-mintaudio --disable-video-x11 --prefix="/usr" --disable-input-tslib
As you can see, I enable dispmanx rendering support (which should be compatible with OpenGL as far as I know!) and legacy fbcon support (because that's all SDL1 supports, sadly).

ptitSeb
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:08 am

Ah ok.

Unfortunatly, I don't think the dispmanx backend for SDL support GL at all.

omnija
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:37 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:56 pm

Id like to know if anyone has successfuly managed to compile any of ptitseb's sources? I haven't really had any luck.
If gzdoom couldn't be compiled what about ptitseb's https://bitbucket.org/ptitSeb/zandronum?

raysaaron
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:20 am

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:41 am

can you post the log and i got it working its about 30fps.

omnija
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:37 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:49 pm

raysaaron wrote:can you post the log and i got it working its about 30fps.
Can you show what building process you used, step by step?

raysaaron
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:20 am

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:32 pm

First Download the repo from

Code: Select all

https://bitbucket.org/ptitSeb/zandronum
.
and go to the repo and type

Code: Select all

cmake .
if you get a SQLite error do This:
get

Code: Select all

https://www.sqlite.org/2016/sqlite-autoconf-3140100.tar.gz
and rename it to

Code: Select all

sqlite-774a05b8e7c9318111228bd5ad6bf65272f3fe38.tar.gz
and then This :

Code: Select all

make

LeSanglier
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: In Hell with God

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:12 am

Hi !!!

Zandronum runs perfectly on my Raspberry Pi 3, this is my little installation guide:
http://framboisepi.fr/installation-du-m ... zandronum/
Mon blog sur le Raspberry Pi : http://framboisepi.fr/
Pour avoir plus de chance d'avoir une réponse à votre question,
allez sur le forum français Rasberry Pi : http://forum.raspfr.org

LeSanglier
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: In Hell with God

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Sun Jan 07, 2018 3:48 pm

Hi,

This is my diff file to have the version 3 of Zandronum :
https://github.com/Nekrofage/zandronum3
Mon blog sur le Raspberry Pi : http://framboisepi.fr/
Pour avoir plus de chance d'avoir une réponse à votre question,
allez sur le forum français Rasberry Pi : http://forum.raspfr.org

bfready
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:13 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:44 pm

This is an old thread, but I was wondering if anyone had this error when trying to start a game in zandronum:


Playing /tmp/zmidb2s8s7
MIDI file: /tmp/zmidb2s8s7
Format: 0 Tracks: 1 Divisions: 140
-: Broken pipe
Playing /tmp/zmidb2s8s7
MIDI file: /tmp/zmidb2s8s7
Format: 0 Tracks: 1 Divisions: 140

I was able to successfully compile PititSeb's Zandronum source. I am able to run zandronum (with Doom2.wad). I set the graphics to 1900x1080 (I think this is the resolution.. whatever my desktop is set to. I set the renderer to opengl and I have the mesa open gl drivers installed.
Once I select the diffculty level and start the game, I get booted back to the desktop and the message I pasted above repeats over and over.

Is this something related to MIDI? Sound drivers? I hear the doom 2 music when it begins and here menu sounds...

Any help would be appreciated!

bfready
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:13 pm

Re: gzdoom on raspberry pi

Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:38 pm

I didn't fix Broken Pipe issue yet, but I confirmed it is an issue w/ the sound by running zandronum -nosound. It runs fine with out sound enabled.
I have gzdoom and it runs fine w/ sound. I found a "soundfonts" directory in gzdoom which has a gzdoom.sf2 file. I am guessing zandronum is missing this soundfont or something.

I also can not seem to contact the master.zandronum.com server when browsing multiplayer internet games. I saw previous post where they were blaming the DNS, but I am able to ping master.zandronum.com and get a reply. So my raspberry does resolve the master.zandronum.com (ip: 45.56.67.39)...

I checked in zandronum.ini and found no configuration for this server.

Any ideas why this would not work? When I use the zandronum server browser on my windows tablet, it pulls server fairly quick.

Return to “Gaming”