ZPMMaker

Breadboards, Astro Pi, and GPIO input

Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:39 am

Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to all this and don't yet have a good understanding of GPIO or wiring in general (e.g. how do you even use a breadboard?).

I've just bought two of the new Astro Pi units and want to get both of them plugged into a single Raspberry Pi 2 Model B unit.

I realise one Astro Pi takes up all the GPIO pins on the Pi. Is there a way to connect them both to a breadboard and then plug the breadboard into the Pi?

If so, can you please point me in the direction of any appropriate guides for total noobs?

(Side note for those wondering: I want to get the x-, y-, and z-axis magnetic field data from both Astro Pi units, and average them in order to create a magnetic gradiometer.)

Thanks in advance for any help provided. :)
Dave

P.S.: I currently have the following parts which may be of use...:
1. A t-cobbler with 40-pin ribbon cable to suit my RPi 2.
2. A breadboard.
3. A classical assortment of male-to-male and female-to-female jumper leads.

BMS Doug

Re: Breadboards, Astro Pi, and GPIO input

Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:46 am

the AstroPi aren't designed to be connected in multiples, workarounds are possible but I would suggest one AstroPi and one seperate i2c magnetometer breakout board (or 2 off magnetometer breakoutboards).

Trying to get two HATs working together on one Pi may be difficult. the AstroPi's magnetometer is probably connected by i2c so two boards would have the same i2c address on each of them (and changing the address might be difficult).
Doug.
Building Management Systems Engineer.

BMS Doug

Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:53 am

Breakout boards featuring the LSM9DS1 (same chip as used in the AstroPi) are quite expensive, there are cheaper magnetometer only breakout boards available.
Doug.

ZPMMaker

Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:16 pm

Thanks for that advice, Doug.

I was originally looking at using this magnetometer: http://www.altronics.com.au/p/z6300-3-a ... or-module/