User avatar
ZacharyI123
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:09 pm
Location: Ilford, Essex
Contact: Website

32 or 64 bit

Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:24 pm

When installing software through the browser on the pi, would l install Linux 32 or 64 bit? Would average Linux software work on the pi not concerning power and ram? I am running raspbian wheezy.
Don't be mean, I'm only thirteen 8-)

itimpi
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contact: Website

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:40 pm

you can only use software specifically compiled for the Pi (which uses an ARM processor). Your question regarding 32/64 bits is only relevant when running a version of Linux on a machine with an Intel compatible processor (such as a typical PC).

Cloudcentric
Posts: 1277
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:13 am

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Mon Dec 31, 2012 7:11 pm

..to be more precise the the Raspberry Pi has an ARMv6 CPU, these CPU's are a different architecture to the x86 and x86-64 to which you are referring.

Raspbian is based of ARMv7 Debian Wheezy ARMHF and compiled to run on the ARMv6:

http://www.raspbian.org/RaspbianFAQ
.
.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 30168
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Mon Dec 31, 2012 7:12 pm

ZacharyI123 wrote:When installing software through the browser on the pi, would l install Linux 32 or 64 bit? Would average Linux software work on the pi not concerning power and ram? I am running raspbian wheezy.
What software do you want to install? If it's not in the Raspbian software repository you may need to download the source and build it yourself.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Working in the Applications Team.

moduleWolf
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Fri Mar 08, 2013 3:42 pm

ARM instructions are always 32-bit, and are aligned on a four-byte boundary.

Register direct instruction support for 64-bit integers is limited, and 64-bit operations require sequences of two or more instructions to synthesize them.

I would tell your compiler 32.

jrenner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:21 pm

I believe ARMv8 supports 64 bit

timrowledge
Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:12 pm
Location: Vancouver Island
Contact: Website

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:55 pm

Yes ARMv8 does 64 bit - but I think it might be a while before it is possible to make a $35 machine based on one….
Making Smalltalk on ARM since 1986; making your Scratch better since 2012

Mattney
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:03 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:18 pm

I'm trying to install chatscript on my pi. Linux supports it in 32... I'm completely new so forgive me please but, is there anyway to make it run on the rpi

User avatar
ric96
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:03 am
Location: NOIDA, India
Contact: Website

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Thu Dec 05, 2013 7:24 am

if its a .deb package then it should have armhf at end of its name and not i386 or amd_64
My apologies for shameless YouTube Plugs...
youtube.com/sahajsarup
twitter @sahajsarup
skype srics1996
e-mail: sahajsarup@gmail.com
Blog: http://www.geektillithertz.com/wordpress
Web: http://www.geektillithertz.com

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 19283
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Thu Dec 05, 2013 7:49 am

ric96 wrote:if its a .deb package then it should have armhf at end of its name and not i386 or amd_64
and should state that is for the Raspberry Pi/Raspbian. Most ordinary Debian armhf .debs are not compatible.

A link to the web site for chatscript would be handy so we can look.

Mattney
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:03 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:12 pm

I Found it at source forge here http://sourceforge.net/projects/chatscript/

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 41900
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:37 pm

Mattney wrote:I Found it at source forge here http://sourceforge.net/projects/chatscript/
That package does include source code, but there's no config script or Makefile or instructions.
So best of luck trying to build that.
Languages using left-hand whitespace for syntax are ridiculous

DMs sent on Twitter/LinkedIn will be answered next month.
Fake doctors - are all on my foes list.

The use of crystal balls and mind reading is prohibited.

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:39 pm

jrenner wrote:I believe ARMv8 supports 64 bit
But other than apples horribly locked down devices you can't actually buy it yet.

totoharibo
Posts: 4587
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 8:43 am

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:59 pm

have a look at
LINUX/LinuxCompile.sh

and then at DOCUMENTATION.

for me explanations are a bit foggy

Good luck ...

User avatar
roadrash
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:59 pm
Location: Huntingdon cambs UK

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:54 pm

If its on sourceforge then it should be Open source so ask for the source code to be posted.

Heater
Posts: 18758
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:26 pm

plugwash,
But other than apples horribly locked down devices you can't actually buy it [64 bit ARM] yet.
But very soon you can: https://www.96boards.org/products/hikey/

64 bit ARM. Eight cores. 1 gig RAM, 1GHz, 130 dollars.

Bring it on!
Memory in C++ is a leaky abstraction .

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:35 pm

Heater wrote:plugwash,
But other than apples horribly locked down devices you can't actually buy it [64 bit ARM] yet.
But very soon you can:

64 bit ARM. Eight cores. 1 gig RAM, 1GHz, 130 dollars.
So they taunt us by giving us the fancy new 64-bit core but giving it with a piddling ammount of ram :(

User avatar
dannyk96
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:02 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:07 pm

I know this is an old thread, but the announcement now is..

There *is* a 64bit Rasperry Pi - with the new Model 3 , even has built in Wifi and Bluetooth

User avatar
Fidelius
Posts: 473
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 8:40 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:14 am

dannyk96 wrote:I know this is an old thread, but the announcement now is..

There *is* a 64bit Rasperry Pi - with the new Model 3 , even has built in Wifi and Bluetooth
That's true. Now the question of the original thread poster got relevant. ;-)

Heater
Posts: 18758
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:35 am

Almost. We still only have 32 bit operating systems to run on the Pi 3.
Memory in C++ is a leaky abstraction .

ghans
Posts: 7890
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:39 am

99 % of all random "Linux 64Bit" binary downloads will
be for x86_64.

The notion that even half of those website owners
currently care or know about AARCH64 is very optimistic.

Those binary packages will not work on any Pi.

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 27226
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:54 am

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ARM_archi ... ng_systems

https://wiki.debian.org/Arm64Port

Just need someone / anyone with the time and effort to implement :shock:
Take what I advise as advice not the utopian holy grail, and it is gratis !!

rompelstilchen
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:37 am

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:05 pm

itimpi wrote:you can only use software specifically compiled for the Pi (which uses an ARM processor). Your question regarding 32/64 bits is only relevant when running a version of Linux on a machine with an Intel compatible processor (such as a typical PC).
all cpu have a pipeline
so question is definetely relevant

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 12149
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Fri Mar 11, 2016 9:05 pm

rompelstilchen wrote:
itimpi wrote:you can only use software specifically compiled for the Pi (which uses an ARM processor). Your question regarding 32/64 bits is only relevant when running a version of Linux on a machine with an Intel compatible processor (such as a typical PC).
all cpu have a pipeline
so question is definetely relevant
But was asked in December 2012. ARMv8 was announced in 2012, so it wasn't relevant to any realised ARM processors at all, let alone Pi, when the question was asked.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

harry4516
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:37 pm

Re: 32 or 64 bit

Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:16 pm

Heater wrote:plugwash,
But other than apples horribly locked down devices you can't actually buy it [64 bit ARM] yet.
But very soon you can: https://www.96boards.org/products/hikey/

64 bit ARM. Eight cores. 1 gig RAM, 1GHz, 130 dollars.

Bring it on!
forget about this beast. I have got this board and the debian 64 does not work at all.
There is not even a 2D accelerator for X11, if you move a window on the screen you can get a cup of coffee
until it moves.

Return to “General discussion”