SteUK

LMS on/off to signal amplifiers on/off

Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:32 pm

Hi chaps/chappettes,

I have a 3 pi, 3 room LMS setup working almost flawlessly, must say it is superb! Big thanks to all those involved in the community for getting me this far.

My desire now is to be able to turn amplifiers on/off in each room via the software player on/off signals (I am using iPeng and the web interface). Are there existing solutions/projects in the works?

Here are my random thoughts on how to get this working:

- LMS plugin to pass on the signal out of the pi.
- Either...IR emitter to send custom signals to perform actions on the amp...or...hard wire into each amps 'on/off' switch.
- Possibly 'Open Remote' might be usable? I have read of pi support.

I am a coder by trade, so that side does not phase me at all :)

Any/all help much appreciated?

Cheers,
Ste

qnology

Re: LMS on/off to signal amplifiers on/off

Tue Apr 23, 2013 11:16 pm

Just an idea...plug the amp(s) into x10 device and use one of their usb/serial controllers to turn it off/on.

SteUK

Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:22 am

Good suggestion, but maybe a pricey solution.

Doing some more research I stumbled upon LIRC (linux inrfared remote control)...

http://randomtutor.blogspot.co.uk/2013/ ... ry-pi.html
http://alexba.in/blog/2013/01/06/settin ... spberrypi/
http://aron.ws/projects/lirc_rpi/

So, maybe my solution is to send out IR to the devices...

Though, this would require line of site to the device :-S

SteUK

Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:59 am

In case anyone is interested (now or in the future), I have purchased some home easy sockets and a refurbished tellstick (from ebay).

Have the daemons/utils for tellstick built on my pi ready to go, and have simple LMS plugin that detects on/off changes. Just need to hook up the two and should be good to go!

My amps are all currently a mishmash affair:
- Bedroom/bathroom : Arcam hi-fi amp separate (mains powered with physical on/off switch)