ZtimE

GPIO to measure volt, mA

Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:57 pm

Hi guys and girls!

New to this forum though i've had the Raspberry Pi for a while , haven't had the time to play with it yet.

I have a project i want to do but after googeling around i can't find anything similar.
I want to use the Pi to measure volt , mA and resistance and log it to a database . I will then use a webinterface to control the whole thing.
Will use this in my job where i work with the electronics for controlling fans and ventilation. In some cases the system are to old and can't log values.
Then i would like to get some cables and "hijack" the signals to measure them.

Now the software bit i'm not that worried about, that i can handle. However in electronics i'm a total beginner.

I have been looking for curciut board voltmeters online but i can't find anything.
In my head i've pictured it like this, i connect a analog/digital converter to the GPIO and to that converter i connect the volt/mA meters.

Is this possibly to do? I'm i crazy for attempting this?
What do you guys think?

/Jonas

techpaul

Re: GPIO to measure volt, mA

Tue Nov 13, 2012 10:23 pm

ZtimE wrote:Hi guys and girls!

New to this forum though i've had the Raspberry Pi for a while , haven't had the time to play with it yet.

I have a project i want to do but after googeling around i can't find anything similar.
I want to use the Pi to measure volt , mA and resistance and log it to a database . I will then use a webinterface to control the whole thing.
Hmm so you want to build a web controlled and logging DMM (Digital MultiMeter).

First thing to remember you cannot measure resistance on a live circuit with a MultiMeter.

Second you have not said what range you require to measure, if the unit is to be autoranging and how many measurements at the same time.