yeahitwasme

[Solved] Increase GPIO cable length

Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:54 am

Hi, I hope this is the right place for my question.

I want to make a wireless doorbell with a pi and its gpio interface. The idea is to press a button, the raspi will notice it and send a signal to an android app which will alert me on my Android phone.

I'm nearly done with everything, but now I need to connect the doorbell button to the pi which is roughly 10 to 15 meters cable length away. There is not much room beneath my door and I cannot place the raspi there, so I need to wire the doorbell to the pi.

Now I'm not an expert on electrics, but I think the 3.3v of the gpio pins will not make it through 10 meters of telecommunications cable, am I right ?

My question is simple: How can I wire the doorbell button + an lcd for showing whether I'm in my garden or not over a distance of ~10 meters so the gpio signal still makes it through ?

Edit: Also consider I will need 12 or 13 leads and therefore it should be as easy as possible.

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by yeahitwasme on Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DeeJay

Re: Increase GPIO cable length

Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:51 pm

yeahitwasme wrote: Now I'm not an expert on electrics, but I think the 3.3v of the gpio pins will not make it through 10 meters of telecommunications cable, am I right ?
I'm not an expert either, but I can say that in a different (not RPi) setting I have run 5v signals over some 100s of meters.

So my suggestion is - try it and see before worrying about designing more complex solutions. (You don't have to install the cable to the door, just a spool of cable on the bench will do for a rough test.)
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
How to Report Bugs Effectively: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html

yeahitwasme

Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:06 pm

Thank you for your reply!