RaspbJan

Additional power supply for circuits controlled by GPIO

Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:52 am

Good day guys,

I'm a total noob and I believe this question treats about very common practice, but I can't find satisfying info :D
Could you tell me pls some general rules about connecting external current sources to circuits controlled by raspberry GPIO and NOT burn RPI? :)
Assuming I would like to experiment with this circuit: http://arduino.cc/en/tutorial/ShiftOut (using RPI ofc) and connect much more LEDs... RPI could not support so much current, so there's some external power needed.

Pls give some advices :)
greetings

FLYFISH TECHNOLOGIES

Re: Additional power supply for circuits controlled by GPIO

Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:10 pm

Hi,
RaspbJan wrote:Could you tell me pls some general rules about connecting external current sources to circuits controlled by raspberry GPIO and NOT burn RPI? :)
Supply the external circuit with additional power supply and connect negative poles (GNDs) together. DO NOT connect positive output from this additional power supply to GPIO's power pin(s).

Take care that voltage levels are proper (they are if you supply this external circuit with 3.3V, they are probably not if you supply it with 5V or any other voltage).
Be aware that some protocols-related elements can create significantly higher (or even negative) voltages on their outputs - for example you must not connect circuit with RS232 output directly to GPIO even if this circuit is supplied with 3.3V.

Best wishes, Ivan Zilic.
Running out of GPIO pins and/or need to read analog values?
Solution: http://www.flyfish-tech.com/FF32

RaspbJan

Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:11 pm

Thanks for your reply Ivan,