levelcrow

How accelerated is Raspbian?

Sun Apr 03, 2016 2:32 am

Eric Anholt has been working on getting full OpenGL working on the Raspberry Pi. One of the big improvements I have been anticipating is a fully accelerated desktop environment through Glamor. I'm not an expert or even a hobbyist by any means regarding GPU acceleration, but I often think about how the acceleration might improve Raspbian performance - perhaps because I find it interesting in regards to how important software is in terms of hardware performance, and also because I used to use the Raspberry Pi 1B as a main computer but found it just a little bit too slow.

I know that some hardware acceleration has already been implemented - smooth window dragging and resizing has been around for a while. However, I also know that the task manager shows CPU usage for processes as the cursor runs over their windows.

My question is: could anyone give me a rough estimate as to how accelerated the desktop environment with the current version of Raspbian is? Is it unreasonable to expect significant improvements in the future - has most of the basic stuff already been accelerated? Or is a not-insignificant performance bump in the horizon for the Raspberry Pi 1/0 desktop experience?

W. H. Heydt

Re: How accelerated is Raspbian?

Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:16 am

I believe that Arnholt's work is slated to be included in the Linux source tree quite soon, such as an upcoming release or two from now. *Part* of the work on the VC4 is, apparently, already in the kernel source tree (Rel. 4.4? 4.5?). My knowledge of where is this is at is from secondary--or tertiary--sources. If you want to know with more certainty, you should probaly do a web search and/or start reading Linux systems groups.

levelcrow

Sun Apr 03, 2016 4:05 am

I think I read a fairly recent post on Reddit by Eric Anholt detailing that desktop environment acceleration is going to need a not-insignificant implementation of render acceleration in Glamor.