ReliC

OpenGL

Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:02 pm

Disclaimer: Relative n00b here. I've worked with Linux for a few years (mainly Ubuntu, SliTaz, Slax, PinguyOS, etc) and feel *generally* comfortable. I'm a programmer by trade so I have no fear of the command line. However I haven't done any programming for a *nix environment (let alone arm) aside from some CircleMUDs back in the day.

Now with that out of the way, I have a question regarding the official Raspbian release and OpenGL/ES. I've got the image loaded up on the Pi and it's working great. Overclocked to arm_freq 930, gpu_freq 350, sdram_freq 500 and Linpack shows ~55,500 kflops on a fresh reboot with no X, running the 224/32 split.

That's all well and good, however I've installed mesa-utils and attempted to run glxinfo/gears (from bare terminal and from within LXDE) and always get errors along the lines of "GLimp() – could not load OpenGL subsystem" or "Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual or fbconfig". Is this simply because it requires the 192/64 split (I'd test now, but I'm at work), or am I missing some GL/ES links somewhere? I get the same errors attempting to run ioquake3 as well, both from a bare terminal and from within LXDE. Or am I just being noobish and going about this completely wrong?

Is there a simple step-by-step process from a fresh Raspbian install to enable GL/ES to the point you could run glxinfo/gears/ioquake3, and perhaps start programming using the GL/ES libraries? I'll smack myself if it's as simple as just switching to the 192/64 split (which I've read can fix a few GL issues). I'm very interested in doing some 2D/3D programming using GL/ES as my education is in C/C++ game development. Should be fun to see what kind of games I could crank out on this little miracle.

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is a noob question!
-ReliC
http://pi.relicweb.com

mpthompson

Re: OpenGL

Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:47 pm