sjo102784

Raspbian Jessie Static IP Config Issue

Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:37 pm

Hello:

I'm new to Jessie and have had a heck of a time setting a static IP address on my Raspberry Pi Jessie build. I'm using the latest build from the official Pi Foundation website, March 2016 version.

In the previous releases, I was able to set a static IP without fail by editing /etc/network/interfaces and entering my static IP information (address, broadcast, netmask, etc).

Upon upgrading to Jessie, this method no longer works. I've been through the Raspbian forums and other websites for assistance, but there doesn't seem to be a definitive solution to or process of setting up a static IP on Jessie. Many of the solutions I'm finding are reported to not work correctly in the threads themselves, and there seems to be a lot of misinformation out there about how to set a static IP on Jessie.

My understanding is this is the new way of setting a static IP in Jessie:
Edit "/etc/network/interfaces"
Change "iface eth0 inet manual"

Edit "/etc/dhcpcd.conf"
Set static IP by entering your settings at the bottom of the file:

"interface eth0
static ip_address=192.168.1.XXX
static routers=192.168.1.XXX
static domain_name_servers=192.168.1.XXX"

Save, reboot.

Problem is, I edited my files following this process this morning and it broke my network connectivity after a reboot.

Any ideas what is going on and/or what I'm missing? Thank you.

Wilbertvb

Re: Raspbian Jessie Static IP Config Issue

Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:08 am

I installed the same image today and the network issues drove me crazy, giving up for today.

I tried systemd-networkd too and that did not solve the problem: pings passed the router are hit and miss.

This installation is destined to be the dhcp server for my home lan.

And hopefully after upgrade to Stretch a samba active domain controller.

sjo102784

Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:48 am

This is so dumb.