culbe

Logitech USB Gamepad F310

Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:19 pm

hey I'm relatively new to hacking around on this thing, but I've at least got EmulationStation working pretty well and I'd like to get a gamepad working with it.

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/product/gamepad-f310

This is the pad I've got lying around. At first, I couldn't get it to show up under /dev/input but now it seems to come up no problem. I didn't do anything differently either, just kept rebooting/unplugging/plugging back in.

So now it's seeing the pad, but when I run jstest for a simple input test I'm not getting anything. What is weird is that at first I could press the MODE button and have the LED next to it light up, but now this is not working. Also, if the switch on the back is in "x input mode" then the gamepad doesn't show up, it needs to be in "direct input mode".

Still, even with it in the correct mode and the RPi recognizing the gamepad, I can't get jstest to receive anything from the device. I'm begging to think I may need a powered hub for this to work properly? Are there any gamepads that will work without having to do this?

Any help is appreciated.

Re: Logitech USB Gamepad F310

Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:35 pm

XInput is a windows only thing, that wont work on the pi.

Anyway, have you connected to controller directly to the pi or have you used a powered hub? My xbox 360 wired controller draws 400mA of current, the pi can barely sustain a little over 100mA.

culbe

Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:18 am

Unfortunately I do not have a hub to use. Does your wired Xbox controller not work plugged directly into the RPi? Are there any options for a controller that don't require a powered hub? If it can run a keyboard why not a controller? What is the difference?

Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:16 pm