IVy

Using a Tontec 3.5 touch screen and DS18B20

Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:21 am

Hello, I am new to the Pi and Linux but I am attempting to put together a Raspberry Pi 2 with a Tontec 3.5 touch screen (found here: http://www.itontec.com/product-detail/product-name-9/) and a DS18B20 temperature sensor. My problem is that the screen's connector uses the #4 pin and all the documentation I can find on the DS18B20 temperature sensor shows that it needs to be on the #4 pin. Yet, my understanding is that multiple DS18B20 can be connected on pin #4 taking advantage of the "Device Tree" functionality so maybe I can still connect the sensor on pin #4 even if it is used by the screen.

Has anyone tried to connect the sensor with this screen or maybe you have a suggestion for a sensor that can be connected on another pin on the Pi?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

texy
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: Using a Tontec 3.5 touch screen and DS18B20

Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:49 am

Hi and welcome to the forum.
Although the driver defaults to GPIO4, another pin can be defined such as in this post :
viewtopic.php?f=37&t=130798&p=875156&hi ... 20#p875156

Hope this helps,
Texy
Various male/female 40- and 26-way GPIO header for sale here ( IDEAL FOR YOUR PiZero ):
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=147682#p971555

Leon Trotsky

Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:48 am

Hi IVy,

I bought a Tontec 3.5" Touchscreen for my son's Raspberry Pi2, but have found that it does not work from booting up and that we have to connect the Pi via the HDMI cable first, login and then we can use the touchscreen. This obviously negates the point of having the touchscreen, if you need another screen as well!

Am I getting something wrong? Perhaps we have set it up incorrectly? Did you manage to get the screen to work straight from booting up?

Many thanks,

Leon.

IVy

Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:55 am