Knudn

Pool table project

Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:39 pm

Okay, i've never done a project on raspberry pi before so i don't really know what it is capable of, so i figured i would ask here if the project i had in mind even would be possible.

We have a 7 feet pool table and i would like to have some sort of automated score tracing. The idea i had in mind was to simply stick the pi underneath the table and just stretch cables to the 6 holes and add a switch to make the pi recognise if a ball where to fall down. I figured that would be easy enough, but the problems is to make the pi recognize what ball has fallen down, because if the pi won't recognize what ball has fallen down it cant really keep the score either. So is there a way to make this work? by a barcode? or maybe it's possible to make it recognize the number on the ball? or im i just way over my head?

Would appreciate any help :)

PiGraham

Re: Pool table project

Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:01 pm

Does this table have a ball chute? If all balls run past one point there are more sensing options since all snesing can be done in one place for all balls.

Some tables have something like this inside:

Many home tables just have 6 separate pockets and would need 6 sensors, one for each pocket.

Colour sensors or camera might work.
You could modify the balls to insert a small RFID capsule and read the ball ID that way.

Knudn

Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:14 pm

This pool table gose down in to sepreate lines, so i would need 2 sensors. But it would need to recognize the ball pretty fast since it only roles by. And half of the balls are just striped with a color, so would the sensor be able to regenize the ball precise?

PiGraham

Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:30 pm

Knudn wrote:This pool table gose down in to sepreate lines, so i would need 2 sensors. But it would need to recognize the ball pretty fast since it only roles by. And half of the balls are just striped with a color, so would the sensor be able to regenize the ball precise?