Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
[quote="dom"]Updated firmware pushed:
Removed plethora of start.elf files.
Now uses start.elf and fixup.dat.
Add config.txt parameter gpu_mem to select GPU mem and ARM gets the remainder. E.g.
[code]gpu_mem=64[/code]
Should handle 256M and 512M parts. The start_cd.elf and fixup_cd.dat will be used when gpu_mem=16.
loader.bin is no longer needed.
I've also switched to compressed kernel images.
Unfortunately rpi-update doesn't understand this yet, so after running rpi-update, run
[code]sudo sh -c 'cp /root/.rpi-firmware/* /boot'[/code]
and then reboot. [edit: corrected]
Feel free to:
[code]sudo rm /boot/arm*_start.elf[/code][/quote]
Removed plethora of start.elf files.
Now uses start.elf and fixup.dat.
Add config.txt parameter gpu_mem to select GPU mem and ARM gets the remainder. E.g.
[code]gpu_mem=64[/code]
Should handle 256M and 512M parts. The start_cd.elf and fixup_cd.dat will be used when gpu_mem=16.
loader.bin is no longer needed.
I've also switched to compressed kernel images.
Unfortunately rpi-update doesn't understand this yet, so after running rpi-update, run
[code]sudo sh -c 'cp /root/.rpi-firmware/* /boot'[/code]
and then reboot. [edit: corrected]
Feel free to:
[code]sudo rm /boot/arm*_start.elf[/code][/quote]
-
- Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
- Posts: 6505
- Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
- Location: Cambridge
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
1. The latter are cutdown versions without opengles/openmax/openvg/codec etc built in. They are used when gpu_mem=16.droorzn wrote: 1. What the differences of start.elf and fixup.dat with start_cd.elf and fixup_cd.dat?
2. What is this code means?
3. What is "*" in arm*_start.elf? in my SD card there are arm_128_start.elf,arm_192_start.elf,arm_224_start.elf and arm_240_start.elf?
2. copies files in /root/.rpi-firmware to /boot as root user.
3. "*" is a wildcard. If you just type it in, it will delete all of: arm_128_start.elf,arm_192_start.elf,arm_224_start.elf and arm_240_start.elf.
If you wait a couple of days there will be a blog post, and easier ways of doing this - this is really for testers at the moment.
-
- Posts: 16179
- Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
- Location: Vallejo, CA (US)
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
Since there was a post noting that the gpu_mem resolution really is 1MB, is the 16MB graphics the actual value to use the smaller footprint files, or is it, say, anything under 32MB?dom wrote: 1. The latter are cutdown versions without opengles/openmax/openvg/codec etc built in. They are used when gpu_mem=16.
Or to put in another way....what is the threshold below which the smaller files would be triggered?
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
2 More:
1. Can i push the latest firmware by downloading from https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... aster/boot and copying to my SD Card with Windows PC ( I only use drag and drop)
2. How do i check my memory split is already 512MB memory split? when i run rpi-update it show my memory is 240/16 and error code arm240.elf is not found
1. Can i push the latest firmware by downloading from https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... aster/boot and copying to my SD Card with Windows PC ( I only use drag and drop)
2. How do i check my memory split is already 512MB memory split? when i run rpi-update it show my memory is 240/16 and error code arm240.elf is not found
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 6:50 pm
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
The new firmware isn't working correctly for me on my 512MB Pi. With gpu_mem=32, I only have 256MB of ARM memory available. free reports this as
This seems to be the same for any value of gpu_mem less than 256.
It seems to work OK on my 256MB Pi, showing lower amounts of memory available.
Any ideas?
Code: Select all
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 255356 184064 71292 0 43360 58912
It seems to work OK on my 256MB Pi, showing lower amounts of memory available.
Any ideas?
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
number 2, only copies files? where the destination?dom wrote: 1. The latter are cutdown versions without opengles/openmax/openvg/codec etc built in. They are used when gpu_mem=16.
2. copies files in /root/.rpi-firmware to /boot as root user.
3. "*" is a wildcard. If you just type it in, it will delete all of: arm_128_start.elf,arm_192_start.elf,arm_224_start.elf and arm_240_start.elf.
If you wait a couple of days there will be a blog post, and easier ways of doing this - this is really for testers at the moment.
Easier way don't help me understanding this.
I just want to learn more, thanks for your answer.

Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
Okay, i'm checking my memory split with this
from one of your post dom
and the output
The number higher than 512-64=448 thus lower than 512-16=496
Is this means my memory split is 496/16MB
How do I change that for different split?
I have no idea cause i write
in my config,txt,
Code: Select all
cat /proc/meminfo
and the output
Code: Select all
MemTotal : 448996KB
Is this means my memory split is 496/16MB
How do I change that for different split?
I have no idea cause i write
Code: Select all
gpu_mem=64
in my config,txt,
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
Edit config.txt and set gpu_mem to whatever amount of memory (in megabytes) that you want allocated to the GPU - the remainder will be allocated to the ARM (system). So set gpu_mem=16 if you only want 16MB GPU RAM, and the maximum amount of system memory for applications.
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
not a big deal but with gpu_mem_256=32
my omxplayer will crash .. when I go to 64 all is ok ... this is
reproducible consistently @firmware 250 playing my cravendale cats video.mp4
my omxplayer will crash .. when I go to 64 all is ok ... this is
reproducible consistently @firmware 250 playing my cravendale cats video.mp4
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
Nice update... Just updated my master image and rolled it out to my current RPi's... including the new 512mb one.
Dweeber A.K.A. Kevin...
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
I tried the following steps on my new 512MB Pi with newly-created Wheezy SD
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo rpi-update (oops. needed to install that, so I did)
sudo rpi-update completed with no errors
cd /boot
sudo nano config.txt
# Following line sets GPU Mem value to 256
gpu_mem=256
ctrl-o
ctrl-x
Reboot
cat /proc/meminfo shows 128MB
Something's not right...
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo rpi-update (oops. needed to install that, so I did)
sudo rpi-update completed with no errors
cd /boot
sudo nano config.txt
# Following line sets GPU Mem value to 256
gpu_mem=256
ctrl-o
ctrl-x
Reboot
cat /proc/meminfo shows 128MB
Something's not right...
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
I did the rpi-update first...notarat wrote: Something's not right...
Then the apt-get update/upgrade
Then both... to get the changes where they need to be (rpi-update doesn't do this yet)
Code: Select all
sudo sh -c 'cp /root/.rpi-firmware/* /boot'
Code: Select all
sudo rm /boot/arm*_start.elf
Then reboot.
Dweeber A.K.A. Kevin...
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 6:50 pm
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
Answering my own question, the problem wasn't the firmware, but my kernel. I am still not sure what kernel parameter was limiting the memory available, but I have now updated the sources to 3.2.27 and rebuilt, and now it shows the correct amount of ARM RAM.davedriver wrote:The new firmware isn't working correctly for me on my 512MB Pi.
So next I need to go through the kernel again and strip out all the bloat.
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
you used gpu_mem=256
don't you have to use gpu_mem_512=256
maybe it just ignored your statement?
don't you have to use gpu_mem_512=256
maybe it just ignored your statement?
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
gpu_mem should work for both models, you only need gpu_mem_512 (or gpu_mem_256) if you want to set a gpu memory allocation specific to the respective model.dliloch wrote:you used gpu_mem=256
don't you have to use gpu_mem_512=256
maybe it just ignored your statement?
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
thanks.. you have quite a setup .. I went to your website.. I see you use omxplayer..
did you try it with gpu set to 32mb... it crashes when I set it that low ..
also I associated omxplayer with mp4 and flv files so I can just click on them when under lxde...
however I don't seem to have key command control then...
did you try it with gpu set to 32mb... it crashes when I set it that low ..
also I associated omxplayer with mp4 and flv files so I can just click on them when under lxde...
however I don't seem to have key command control then...
-
- Posts: 33
- Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:14 pm
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
The instructions work for me. I now have a 512MB running with 64MB for the gpu.
Eclipse java running the image analysis example (1600x1200 24bit image):
'top' shows:
KiB Mem: 448996 total, 437056 used, 11940 free, 10768 buffers
KiB Swap: 102396 total, 0 used, 102396 free, 115260 cached
Some of the examples did not run with the 256MB RPi, they run now.
Eclipse java running the image analysis example (1600x1200 24bit image):
'top' shows:
KiB Mem: 448996 total, 437056 used, 11940 free, 10768 buffers
KiB Swap: 102396 total, 0 used, 102396 free, 115260 cached
Some of the examples did not run with the 256MB RPi, they run now.
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
on my 512 board with 32 for gpu -- omxplayer only does audio but does not
crash system any longer.. @64mb all is well .. the overclock is still dodgy ..
I really thought it was working great then file corruption .. fortunately fsck worked
for me .. this is on the firmware #250 as of today 14a55da ...
crash system any longer.. @64mb all is well .. the overclock is still dodgy ..
I really thought it was working great then file corruption .. fortunately fsck worked
for me .. this is on the firmware #250 as of today 14a55da ...
-
- Posts: 33
- Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:14 pm
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
I am using the overclock with the following:
arm_freq=1000
sdram_freq=500
qpu_freq=300
core_freq=500
force_turbo=0
over_voltages=6
It has been running for quite some time today and the temp is 44. It gets up to 52 under load. I have a TO-220 heat sink on the memory chip. The SD card is a SanDisk Ultra 10, 32GB. I have been running the overclock as above since turbo first came out, first with my 256MB and now with the 512MB and todate had no memory corruption event. I have the little read out, that when hovered over, shows the speed, so I watch it shift back and forth from 700MHz to 1000MHz.
arm_freq=1000
sdram_freq=500
qpu_freq=300
core_freq=500
force_turbo=0
over_voltages=6
It has been running for quite some time today and the temp is 44. It gets up to 52 under load. I have a TO-220 heat sink on the memory chip. The SD card is a SanDisk Ultra 10, 32GB. I have been running the overclock as above since turbo first came out, first with my 256MB and now with the 512MB and todate had no memory corruption event. I have the little read out, that when hovered over, shows the speed, so I watch it shift back and forth from 700MHz to 1000MHz.
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
I was curious about this, and what fixup_cd is for, also.W. H. Heydt wrote:Since there was a post noting that the gpu_mem resolution really is 1MB, is the 16MB graphics the actual value to use the smaller footprint files, or is it, say, anything under 32MB?
Or to put in another way....what is the threshold below which the smaller files would be triggered?
It seems with the current implementation that gpu_ram=15 boots the _cd but does not attempt to cut its ram any further below 16. gpu_ram=17 fails to boot, suggesting it is trying to restrict the full start.elf. gpu_ram=31 works, using start.elf, but this is not very useful because it is already below the level where the gpu can do serious graphics acceleration. (So I still wonder what fixup_cd.dat is for.)
Given that there are already values that fail to boot, it might make more sense to allow gpu_ram<16 to interpolate start_cd.elf (which might work for very small framebuffers), and to set the threshold somewhere between 16 and 32.
Regardless, this is a very elegant hack, especially compared to the previous system of pre-boot fixed allocations. I actually prefer this to true dynamic allocation. So thanks to Dom and Eben.
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
One question about this new world order of firmware
How does this change the diagnostic flashes of the "OK/ACT" LED?
I was getting 3 flashes - according to wiki, this means missing loader.bin ... of course it's missing, it's not needed any more!!
Perhaps someone who:
a) knows what the flashes mean now; and
b) has access to the wiki
could update it, for completeness
How does this change the diagnostic flashes of the "OK/ACT" LED?
I was getting 3 flashes - according to wiki, this means missing loader.bin ... of course it's missing, it's not needed any more!!
Perhaps someone who:
a) knows what the flashes mean now; and
b) has access to the wiki
could update it, for completeness
I now own 2 RPi - does that mean I own a circumference?
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
create new installation on spare SDDweeber wrote:I did the rpi-update first...notarat wrote: Something's not right...
Then the apt-get update/upgrade
Then both... to get the changes where they need to be (rpi-update doesn't do this yet)Code: Select all
sudo sh -c 'cp /root/.rpi-firmware/* /boot'
Then Edited the /boot/config.txt (which you have already done)Code: Select all
sudo rm /boot/arm*_start.elf
Then reboot.
boot
change the following in raspi-config
·128mb split
·timezone set to my locale
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install git (Can't run rpi-update without it)
sudo wget http://goo.gl/1BOfJ -O /usr/bin/rpi-update
sudo chmod +x /usr/bin/rpi-update
sudo rpi-update
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get upgrade
cd /boot
sudo nano config.txt
save & exit
sudo reboot
log in
top still shows 256MB total
something still not right...
edited to add that I "did" do both steps below in the proper sequence...I just left them off the post when I copied and pasted the code..
Code: Select all
sudo sh -c 'cp /root/.rpi-firmware/* /boot'
sudo rm /boot/arm*_start.elf
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
so ... you have a 512MB Pinotarat wrote:add "gpu_mem_512=256"
save & exit
sudo reboot
log in
top still shows 256MB total
something still not right...
you've told it, via config, to use a 256MB for the GPU (gpu_mem_512=256)
which means ... there's 512 - 256 = 256MB for the CPU
and top is telling you there's 256MB total (CPU) ram ...
where's the problem?
NOTE: top hasn't changed ... it's always told you how much CPU memory you have
I now own 2 RPi - does that mean I own a circumference?
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
jaromanda wrote:so ... you have a 512MB Pinotarat wrote:add "gpu_mem_512=256"
save & exit
sudo reboot
log in
top still shows 256MB total
something still not right...
you've told it, via config, to use a 256MB for the GPU (gpu_mem_512=256)
which means ... there's 512 - 256 = 256MB for the CPU
and top is telling you there's 256MB total (CPU) ram ...
where's the problem?
NOTE: top hasn't changed ... it's always told you how much CPU memory you have
Okay. I was sure top would report total ram. Thanks for confirmation that it's working as intended.

Just to confirm, I changed memory split to 384/128 and top reports
KiB Mem: 383972 total, 50200 used, 333772 free, 8012 buffers
KiB Swap: 102396 total, 0 used, 102396 free, 23884 cached
so...looks like there wasn't a problem with the second time I went through the process. (I left out a step my first time through, which is why I encountered the problem...)
Looks like my steps to build my other 512MB pi will be:
create new installation on spare SD
boot
change the following in raspi-config
· Resize partition (16GB SD Card)
· change password
· 128mb split
· timezone set to my locale
· update raspi-config
sudo reboot (to Resize partition)
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install git (Can't run rpi-update without it)
sudo wget http://goo.gl/1BOfJ -O /usr/bin/rpi-update
sudo chmod +x /usr/bin/rpi-update
sudo rpi-update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo sh -c 'cp /root/.rpi-firmware/* /boot'
cp: omitting directory `/root/.rpi-firmware/modules'
cp: omitting directory `/root/.rpi-firmware/vc'
sudo rm /boot/arm*_start.elf
cd /boot
sudo nano config.txt
Added "gpu_mem_512=XXX"
Added License Keys for MPEG & VC-1
Add overclocking settings (850/450/450)
Ctrl=O then Ctrl-X
sudo reboot
-
- Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
- Posts: 6505
- Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
- Location: Cambridge
Re: Test Whether Raspberry Pi Has 512MB RAM
Hexxeh has updated rpi-update, so no need for the manual copy step afterwards.