Daltanius

Raspbian, incorrect login

Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:06 pm

Hi,

I feel like a total noob and I'm not far from that, however I'm not new to computers, linux, console etc.

Yesterday I downloaded Raspbian, put it on a 8 GB micro SD card using Unetbootin (on a windows machine) and got the B+ booting with no apparent errors (I created the bootable SD card 2 times from two computers). Right from the first boot I couldn't log in. As I read the default credentials are pi / raspberry, but they were not accepted. Instead I got an "incorrect login" message. I tried probably every combination of "pi" and "raspberry" with no luck. I'm 100% positive I haven't mistyped. I even tried over ssh ($ ssh pi@192.168.1.10) and copied the password "raspberry" from the documentation - "permission denied". I also checked the internets with no luck.

I see two possibilities: the default Raspbian login isn't pi/raspberry or I I'm making some silly mistake.

I would really appreciate some help. Thanks in advance

emgi

Re: Raspbian, incorrect login

Tue Mar 17, 2015 8:45 pm

No clue as to where you're from but this can hardly be anything else than a keyboard mismatch.
You may not have noticed the problem while you're hardly typing anything.
The Pi default is "UK" which has a QWERTY layout. With AZERTY you could be in trouble.

/emgi

Daltanius

Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:17 pm

Thanks for the suggestion, but it's not it. In can verify the keyboard layout while typing the login. Also when trying over ssh I tried by copy-pasting the same password from the documentation with the same result.

It seems like the default username or password have changed. But I cannot verify it by myself unless ... I will try to find an earlier release of Raspbian and try again.

fruitoftheloom

Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:22 pm

using Unetbootin (on a windows machine)
It is advisable to use Win32DiskImager to write the SD Card, UnetBootin is for creating bootable USB Drives...