megrimm

Thermo CRS F3 Robot Arm Controller

Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:08 pm

Hello,

I am completely new to this (robot arms) so bare with me.

I have a Thermo CRS F3 Robot Arm that was gifted to me. I DO NOT have the controller (C500C). Would it be possible to build a controller with the RPi to control the arm?

Here are some minimal specs:
http://www.robotsdotcom.com/images/F3.pdf

If i had the controller i would use RAPL-3 language to control it as so:
http://www.retisoft.ca/instruments/crs/ ... notes.html

I am actually not even sure where to begin to control this thing so any advice would help tremendously. Basically the at the bottom of the arm there are a bunch of wires hanging out. I am assuming with them, as long as I can power the thing, I can control the motors.

Thanks for any help or guidance!
mark

BMS Doug

Re: Thermo CRS F3 Robot Arm Controller

Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:35 am

megrimm wrote:Hello,

I am completely new to this (robot arms) so bare with me.

I have a Thermo CRS F3 Robot Arm that was gifted to me. I DO NOT have the controller (C500C). Would it be possible to build a controller with the RPi to control the arm?

Here are some minimal specs:
http://www.robotsdotcom.com/images/F3.pdf

If i had the controller i would use RAPL-3 language to control it as so:
http://www.retisoft.ca/instruments/crs/ ... notes.html

I am actually not even sure where to begin to control this thing so any advice would help tremendously. Basically the at the bottom of the arm there are a bunch of wires hanging out. I am assuming with them, as long as I can power the thing, I can control the motors.

Thanks for any help or guidance!
mark
Hi Megrimm,

As you say, that mass of cables will be connected to the motors and associated rotary encoders. Figuring out which wire goes to which motor (and the voltage and current requirements of that motor) is going to be the important part.