Linkan

Raspberry Pi USB microphone 1 Khz background noise interfere

Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:11 pm

Using this microphone I have some severe noise in the background. The more peripherals I plug in (camera, gertboard, wi-fi adapter) the worse the noise becomes. We've tried several different power supplies, however the problem still remains. The microphone seems to pick up some switching noise from the pi itself and from the peripherals connected to it. The most significant frequency one can hear sounds to be about 1 Khz.

The noise is not present if one plugs in the microphone into any other computer. So the problem clearly lies with the raspberry pi itself. Do you have any suggestions as to what to do about this problem?

I am using a Raspberry Pi Model B with old linear regulators. Perhaps the problem could be fixed by using a USB hub with an external power supply?

(EDIT: Also, the volume is always the same, I believe the amplitude is around 0.2 on a scale from 0 to 1. It's a constant tone which is very alike to a 1 Khz sawtooth/square tone. It does not help using a usb extension cable, still the same bad effect.)
Last edited by Linkan on Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

RaTTuS

Re: Raspberry Pi USB microphone 1 Khz background noise inter

Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:30 am

run the audio though a spectrum analyzer to see where you getting peaks - is it a ground loop ?
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

Linkan

Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:46 am

So, I took a new sample from a video today and one can hear a "click" sound every second which I find wouldn't sound too much alike ground loop noise. Anyway here's a image of the frequency analysis:

Here is the spectrum.txt exported from audacity.

cyrano

Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:21 pm

Looking at the graph it's almost certainly USB noise. Have you tried another, better PSU?