Antonyvw
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 1:46 pm

connecting to a network

Wed Dec 09, 2015 7:36 am

Hi folk. Im just learning about the RasPi. I have a small network at home which I want to connect my Pi to (desktop unit + a couple of laptops). How do I get it to see the network and the network to see it? On my main pc Im running win 10 through a BT hub 5. The hub can see all the devices including the Pi but none of them can see the Pi or visa versa. can anyone help please?

Edit: I should add that this is a cabled network not wifi

User avatar
hansotten
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:01 am
Contact: Website

Re: connecting to a network

Wed Dec 09, 2015 7:53 am

Hi,

The Raspberry Pi, running Linux (I assume Raspbian) is a different machine than Windows 10 as regarding the network.
You will have to learn about IP numbers and such, the naming and filesharing of Windows is not native to the Pi out of the box. It is doable with some study, see https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... te-access/ for example.

At least you should see the Raspberry Pi via a scanner program like the Advanced IP Scanner. Then you have its ip number.
And on the Pi itself, run a terminal and type ifconfig to see the network info.
http://duinorasp.hansotten.com for Raspberry Pi and Arduino and ESP8266
http://retro.hansotten.nl for retrocomputing with 8 bit CPU's

ghans
Posts: 7890
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: connecting to a network

Wed Dec 09, 2015 7:54 am

Can you ping devices from the Pi and vice versa ?

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

Antonyvw
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: connecting to a network

Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:28 am

Thanks for the help.

If I try to ping any item on my network I get the following:

ping: icmp open socket: Operation not permitted

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 19286
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: connecting to a network

Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:51 am

Antonyvw wrote:If I try to ping any item on my network I get the following:

ping: icmp open socket: Operation not permitted
That's a known bug in one of the recent releases. You can fix it with "sudo chmod u+s /bin/ping". Then ping should work.

9495944760
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:59 pm

Re: connecting to a network

Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:09 pm

rpdom wrote:
Antonyvw wrote:If I try to ping any item on my network I get the following:

ping: icmp open socket: Operation not permitted
That's a known bug in one of the recent releases. You can fix it with "sudo chmod u+s /bin/ping". Then ping should work.
I met the problem of "ping: icmp open socket: Operation not permitted", the command "sudo chmod u+s /bin/ping" helped me to rectify it. Now I am facing another issue. I tried to browse in Epiphany Web Browser, but it is showing a oops window. While placing the mouse pointer over the icon for internet connectivity, it showing "eth0: Configured 169.254.8.217/16". Please help me to solve this make it smooth to browse in Epiphany Browser.

Thank you,
JOSHY T R
Radio Astronomy Centre
NCRA - TIFR

drgeoff
Posts: 12420
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: connecting to a network

Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:49 pm

9495944760 wrote:
rpdom wrote:
Antonyvw wrote:If I try to ping any item on my network I get the following:

ping: icmp open socket: Operation not permitted
That's a known bug in one of the recent releases. You can fix it with "sudo chmod u+s /bin/ping". Then ping should work.
I met the problem of "ping: icmp open socket: Operation not permitted", the command "sudo chmod u+s /bin/ping" helped me to rectify it. Now I am facing another issue. I tried to browse in Epiphany Web Browser, but it is showing a oops window. While placing the mouse pointer over the icon for internet connectivity, it showing "eth0: Configured 169.254.8.217/16". Please help me to solve this make it smooth to browse in Epiphany Browser.

Thank you,
Your RPi's ethernet interface does not have a proper IP address. BTHomehub5s default to using the 192.168.1 subnet and issue DHCP addresses in the range 192.168.1.64 to 192.168.1.253.

The 169.254.8.217 address is a self-generated address by the RPi when it asks for a DHCP address but for some reason does not get one.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

9495944760
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:59 pm

Re: connecting to a network

Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:11 am

[img]Pictures[/img]Please help me out to rectify this IP settings.
JOSHY T R
Radio Astronomy Centre
NCRA - TIFR

drgeoff
Posts: 12420
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: connecting to a network

Sun Nov 06, 2016 4:58 pm

9495944760 wrote:[img]Pictures[/img]Please help me out to rectify this IP settings.
1. Please do not hijack threads. Start you own.

2. And when you do, ensure that it contains details of the problem you are having.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 27226
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: connecting to a network

Sun Nov 06, 2016 5:01 pm

9495944760 wrote:[img]Pictures[/img]Please help me out to rectify this IP settings.
Please stick to your own post it is confusing and unhelpful to OP to hijack his Post

viewtopic.php?f=63&t=164955&p=1064155#p1064138
Take what I advise as advice not the utopian holy grail, and it is gratis !!

Return to “Beginners”