hackernotcracker

Color Schemes on Raspbian

Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:08 am

Hi,

I am needing to remove all blue colors from my monitor, in order to work on it late at night ... Doctor's orders.
White or any color with blue in it resets seritonin, and is causing me to have a sleeping disorder.
I am an expert linux user, but I am not used to Raspian. I normally use native X11 apps or Gnustep, which obeys X11 commands. The raspberry pi does not obey X11 command switches such as -bg gold or -background gold when it comes to menus.

I did find the menu->Preferences->appearances dialog, and changed all blues into greens, whites into golds and yellows; but several widgets are still black on white. I am extremely frustrated. I can make the active application on the desktop have a green window manager bar but all inactive windows turn white. LXterminal has a seperate preferences menu that allows changing the background to green, and the foreground to black. But the File, Edit, Tabs, etc. are still black on white. The scroll bars don't change color either.

Is this a QT issue, or a window manager issue? and where is the file that holds the colors, eg: /etc/what? or /usr/shared/what? etc.

blaablaaguy

Re: Color Schemes on Raspbian

Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:25 pm

Try your TV/screens settings- theres probably a filter on there that will apply a red overlay on your screen, or an option to change the hue.
This signature intentionally left blank.

hackernotcracker

Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:40 pm

Thanks for the reply.

There is a Color filter. My monitor has three presets for different RGB profiles to get a true color rendering and a custom filter. I used the custom filter and turned blue all the way down to zero. The whites become slightly off white, but not yellow, orange or green. Blue text is a different shade of blue, but clearly still blue.
:!: