lazydays
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:45 pm

Not Optimum Mode

Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:55 pm

Hi guys,

I've just bought my first Raspberry Pi 3.
I will be using with an old VGA monitor and so bought an HDMI to VGA adaptor.
I have installed Raspbian.

When I first installed the OS it worked fine on the monitor I had.
Once setup, I started getting the message
not optimum mode recommended mode 1280x1024 60hz
I've plugged into a different monitor and it works fine, with the HDMI to VGA converter, so I know that the hardware is all working fine.
Therefore, I guess it's to do with the config file.

I've tried a number of different suggestions such as
https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... ga-adapter
but nothing seems to be working.

I want to use a Samtron 73v monitor which is probably 10+ years old.

If anyone can help me to identify the correct config, I'd be really grateful!

Thanks :)

lazydays
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:45 pm

Re: Not Optimum Mode

Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:42 am

Hi guys,

I've been trying config variations to try and work out where I am going wrong.

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=1

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=35

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=35
hdmi_drive=2

None of these have worked.
If anyone can help me I would be really grateful!

Thanks :)

DirkS
Posts: 10748
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Not Optimum Mode

Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:50 am

What I would do is to comment out every line in config that has 'hdmi' or 'overscan' in it.
Then follow viewtopic.php?f=28&t=5851#p77547 to try to get the best setup for your screen.

msummers40
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: Not Optimum Mode

Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:12 am

Hi-
I'm having a similar problem with an old VGA monitor. Did you ever get it to work?
Thanks,
Matt

Return to “Troubleshooting”