bengast

Raspberry Pi stuck in kernel?

Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:32 pm

so originally I had boot problems but then I managed to move past them (had my image incorrectly installed on the SD go figure...)

my problems now however are a little more problematic. I boot the raspberry Pi up (by plugging the power cable in) and it enters the kernel doing its inits (I got a Jessie lite 4.9) it recognizes my keyboard but then there is a delay and the "line random: crng init done." nothing appears after this unless I remove the usb devices and put them back in.

there is no request at all for a login. no command I tried is working. So I'm kinda at an end considering I'm new in this (I'm doing this for my dad who thought it'd be a fun project.) should I just wipe the SD card, reformat it and try again?

farvardin

Re: Raspberry Pi stuck in kernel?

Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:24 pm

I got the same problem. If I find a solution, beside reinstalling everything, I'll post here...

pcmanbob

Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:56 pm

bengast wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:32 pm
so originally I had boot problems but then I managed to move past them (had my image incorrectly installed on the SD go figure...)

my problems now however are a little more problematic. I boot the raspberry Pi up (by plugging the power cable in) and it enters the kernel doing its inits (I got a Jessie lite 4.9) it recognizes my keyboard but then there is a delay and the "line random: crng init done." nothing appears after this unless I remove the usb devices and put them back in.

there is no request at all for a login. no command I tried is working. So I'm kinda at an end considering I'm new in this (I'm doing this for my dad who thought it'd be a fun project.) should I just wipe the SD card, reformat it and try again?
Hi.

If this is a new install it sounds very much like your image is corrupt, either it corrupted at download stage or when you were writing it to the SD card.