Spaziba

USB webcam live streaming using FFmpeg

Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:49 pm

Hi there

Let me start by saying I am a complete novice. That I managed to stumble as far as I have is nothing short of miraculous.
Anyways, I have the simple dream of being able to live stream to YouTube using my Logitech C920 connected to a Raspberry Pi 3b+. I actually managed to get some of the way. That is I seem to have installed and compiled FFmpeg with h264 on a fully updated Raspbian (2018-04-18). I also managed to stream, but I am at a complete loss to why I seem unable to adjust the tiniest things.
So I am using the following to stream (edited from another forum)

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -re -f s16le -i /dev/zero -f v4l2 -thread_queue_size 512 -codec:v h264 -s 1920x1080 -i /dev/video0 -codec:v copy -acodec aac -ab 128k -g 50 -f flv rtmp://a.rtmp.youtube.com/live2/*My stream ID*
This does work, but I feel pretty confident that this is an awful line of code - for instance some of the code is related to audio which I do not need. I have to be honest and say I am having a very hard time understanding FFmpeg, so every adjustment seems to go wrong, i.e. changing bit- and framerate.
Just to clarify, my goal is to live stream the C920 to YouTube, ideally 60 fps in 1920x1080, looking all nice. The Raspberry is dedicated to this only purpose, so all horsepower is available

Anyone who might have suggestions for the streaming options? Or is this simply a downright silly approach for livestreaming?
I tried looking into Docker solutions, but without success.

Sorry for the novel-lenght post.

- Spaziba

tropho

Re: USB webcam live streaming using FFmpeg

Tue May 01, 2018 4:46 pm