wondar

Simulate RF Remote Button Press

Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:48 am

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to DIY electronics and am trying to learn as I go, but would appreciate if someone with more of a background could assist me.

Hardware
Surveillance Camera (NVR)
RF Remote (Utilizes 2x CR2032 3V Batteries)
RPi 3B+

What I'm Trying to Do
Connect the RPi to the NVR. Whenever the NVR alarm outputs, it will act as an input to RPi.
The RPi will then simulate a press on the RF Remote.
If possible, would like to remove the batteries in the RF Remote and connect directly to the RPi or NVR.

What I've Done so Far
Solder extension wires from the RF remote:
I will only utilize 3 of the 4 buttons.
Measured that the RF remote is running at 6V.

What I've Researched
1. Cannot connect the RF remote directly to the GPIO pin on the RPi (This may damage the RPi)
2. Should use an Optoisolator
How would I measure the equipment so that I could choose the correct optoisolator? Is there a recommended brand?
3. Could use a 4 Channel DC 5V Relay Module
Since the remote is using 6V, but the relay is 5V, would this work?

PhatFil

Re: Simulate RF Remote Button Press

Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:31 am

An alternative to hacking the rf controller may be to use a £10 itead/sonoff rf bridge flashed with tasmota firmware to issue RF signals when prompted via Mqtt. https://github.com/arendst/Sonoff-Tasmota/wiki

h/w specific link:
https://github.com/arendst/Sonoff-Tasmo ... Bridge-433

that way you need only host a mqtt broker on your pi and you can keep the remote available for remote control too.

whats the remote for btw?

wondar

Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:17 pm

Hi Phatfil,

The remote is for my garage door. Thanks for the suggestion, I did think to use something like this, but I believe that this would be a more difficult task for me.

Hi Gordon77,