cbh560
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:06 am

TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:19 am

Hi All
I am new to the raspberry pi and have a Pi 2B. I have a TP link Archer T2U AC600 wireless adapter but can not get it to work. Can someone give any advise on how to get this working please? I have no experience with the Pi or Linux......sorry.

Andyroo

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 2:12 pm

In the top right of the desktop do you see a WiFi connection when the dongle is plugged in? Hovering / clicking this will show you the networks the Pi can see.

If not then the basic system does not recognise this adapter and you may have to hunt for a Pi driver or build one - not easy if you are new to Linux. What operating system do you have on the Pi and is it up to date?

Do have the Ethernet cable connection working and get internet that way?

MrEngman
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 2:32 pm

cbh560 wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:19 am
Hi All
I am new to the raspberry pi and have a Pi 2B. I have a TP link Archer T2U AC600 wireless adapter but can not get it to work. Can someone give any advise on how to get this working please? I have no experience with the Pi or Linux......sorry.
Depending on the OS you have installed you will probably need to install the wifi driver.

With the wifi dongle connected to your Pi please post the output of the two commands:-

Code: Select all

uname -a
lsusb
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

cbh560
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:06 am

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:05 pm

Thank you for the replies so far.

Andyroo.
I have installed the Raspbian OS through from the noobs on the Pi website. I have a connection through my wired connection but if I remove this with the wireless dongle installed I just get two red X's by the wifi icon. I have just done a fresh install and run the latest update. but still the same.



MrEngman.
The outputs you requested are as follows

uname -a =
Linux raspberrypi 4.14.98v7+ #120 smp Tue Feb12 20:27:48 GMT 2019 armv71GNU/Linux

lsusb=
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 148f:761a Ralink Technology, Corp
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c534 Logitech, Inc Unifying Receiver
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp SMC9514 Hub
Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Standard Microsystems Corp. SMC9514 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux foundation 2.0 root hub

Andyroo

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:15 pm

This may help unless someone comes up with a better fix as it’s a bit old

https://askubuntu.com/questions/674116/ ... nk-mt7610u

The usb ID from the report is a solid match though the model is different.

swahren
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:24 pm
Location: Germany

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:07 pm

Andyroo wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:15 pm
This may help unless someone comes up with a better fix as it’s a bit old

https://askubuntu.com/questions/674116/ ... nk-mt7610u

The usb ID from the report is a solid match though the model is different.
No, please don't do this. The driver is available upstream since 4.19.

Reference: https://github.com/raspberrypi/linux/pull/2890


cbh560
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:06 am

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:17 pm

Hi Swarhen
Thank you for your reply. Can I install this direcly on the Pi by following the link provided? Sorry, that sounds realy dim but as I previously said, I am a Pi virgin so need all the help I can get.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 27226
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:30 pm

See next reply
Last edited by fruitoftheloom on Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Take what I advise as advice not the utopian holy grail, and it is gratis !!

MrEngman
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:33 pm

cbh560 wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:05 pm
Thank you for the replies so far.

Andyroo.
I have installed the Raspbian OS through from the noobs on the Pi website. I have a connection through my wired connection but if I remove this with the wireless dongle installed I just get two red X's by the wifi icon. I have just done a fresh install and run the latest update. but still the same.



MrEngman.
The outputs you requested are as follows

uname -a =
Linux raspberrypi 4.14.98v7+ #120 smp Tue Feb12 20:27:48 GMT 2019 armv71GNU/Linux

lsusb=
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 148f:761a Ralink Technology, Corp
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c534 Logitech, Inc Unifying Receiver
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp SMC9514 Hub
Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Standard Microsystems Corp. SMC9514 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux foundation 2.0 root hub
Hi cbh560,

I have compiled drivers for the wifi module you have. You can download and install the driver for the kernel version you currently have using the following commands

Code: Select all

wget http://downloads.fars-robotics.net/wifi-drivers/mt7610-drivers/mt7610-4.14.98-v7-1200.tar.gz
tar xzf mt7610-4.14.98-v7-1200.tar.gz
./install.sh
I also have a script at http://downloads.fars-robotics.net/wifi ... stall-wifi which when run will automatically select the right version of driver and install it.

You can download and install the script using commands

Code: Select all

sudo wget http://downloads.fars-robotics.net/wifi-drivers/install-wifi -O /usr/bin/install-wifi
sudo chmod +x /usr/bin/install-wifi
and run the script using command

Code: Select all

sudo install-wifi -h
to see data on how to use it.

To download and install the mt7610u driver for your current kernel you should just need to run command

Code: Select all

sudo install-wifi
The newer kernel version 4.19.xx now has the mt7610u driver installed but as you are new to Linux and as the new kernel is still under testing it may be best to keep to the kernel version you are currently using.

MrEngman
Last edited by MrEngman on Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

cbh560
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:06 am

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:28 pm

Hi MrEngman

I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I keep getting errors. I have copied all of your text but no success.

Andyroo

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:15 pm

cbh560 wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:28 pm
Hi MrEngman

I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I keep getting errors. I have copied all of your text but no success.
Can you post the errors here?

MrEngman
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:27 pm

Andyroo wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:15 pm
cbh560 wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:28 pm
Hi MrEngman

I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I keep getting errors. I have copied all of your text but no success.
Can you post the errors here?
Would be helpful.

However, I've just noticed an error in the commands to install the driver, so the error could be due to that. I have corrected the error in my previous post which was a missing space in line

Code: Select all

tar xzfmt7610-4.14.98-v7-1200.tar.gz
which should be

Code: Select all

tar xzf mt7610-4.14.98-v7-1200.tar.gz
- space required between tar xzf and mt7610-4.14....

MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

joshingeneral
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 8:55 pm

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:11 pm

So I am also trying to get the #RaspberryPi to work with TPlink AC600 drivers.

But as of today, the last driver compiled was kernel 4.19.19 (link: http://downloads.fars-robotics.net/wifi ... 0-drivers/)

Anyone know where to find that kernel? Can't seem to find it in the pi git: (link: https://github.com/Hexxeh/rpi-firmware/ ... 48d1456+34) It jumps from 4.14.98 - 4.19.25 🙄

Y2Kot
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:05 am

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:20 am

I find solution how to make it work on pi4 ( thanks for help @pelwell - https://github.com/raspberrypi/linux/issues/3014).
I've build 5.2 kernel and downloaded mt7610u, mt7610e files from - https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/ke ... e/mediatek. After that I've created mediatek dir in /lib/firmware and put files there. After reboot it works

terrymiesse
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:01 pm

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:06 pm

Thank you very much to MrEngman for keeping this resource up to date. Just wanted to update the thread for anybody else who finds it via Google like I did.
I have a Raspberry Pi B v2 running 4.9.75+. I just ran the script and it downloaded the 8812au driver. Badabing badaboom. I already had wifi configured from a previous interface so it was immediately up and running.

buymoney
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:35 am

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:39 am

@MrEngman
In addition to the title a bit
You can update mt7612u for the latest version of kernel.
Thanks

buymoney
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:35 am

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:08 am

@MrEngman
Thanks for your feedback
I tried kernel 4.19.102 but failed
Can you update the kernel 4.19.97 version (or kernel 4.19.93-re4son)
Thanks

MrEngman
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:28 am

buymoney wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:08 am
@MrEngman
Thanks for your feedback
I tried kernel 4.19.102 but failed
Can you update the kernel 4.19.97 version (or kernel 4.19.93-re4son)
Thanks
Try now, I've compiled a load more mt7612 drivers for 4.19.xx.


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

Mario22
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:06 pm

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:12 pm

@MrEngman

Can you, please update drivers mt7610 for newer kernel version? Especially for 4.19.66.

Thanks a lot
Last edited by Mario22 on Wed Feb 19, 2020 7:44 am, edited 2 times in total.

AtlasZeroOne
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:29 am

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:36 am

Hi there,

Responding to this thread as I am experiencing similar issues.

I'm trying to get my TP-LINK Archer AC600 T2U Plus to work with my RPi 3 B+

Output of uname -a:

Code: Select all

Linux navio 4.19.83-emlid-v7+ #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Nov 28 12:44:40 MSK 2019 armv7l GNU/Linux

Output of lsusb:

Code: Select all

Bus 001 Device 005: ID 2357:0120 TP-Link 
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c52b Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMC9514 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

I've been trying to get my Pi to recognise this thing for a couple of hours now with no luck.

Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated.

MrEngman
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:52 am

Mario22 wrote:
Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:12 pm
@MrEngman

Can you, please update drivers mt7610 for newer kernel version? Especially for 4.19.66.

Thanks a lot
Raspbian 4.19 includes the mt7610 wifi driver. You may just need to install the firmware. The firmware files for Raspbian do not include the firmware but you can install the necessary firmware using commands

Code: Select all

wget http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian/pool/non-free/f/firmware-nonfree/firmware-misc-nonfree_20190114-2_all.deb
sudo dpkg -i firmware-misc-nonfree_20190114-2_all.deb

MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

MrEngman
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Wed Feb 19, 2020 9:25 am

AtlasZeroOne wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:36 am
Hi there,

Responding to this thread as I am experiencing similar issues.

I'm trying to get my TP-LINK Archer AC600 T2U Plus to work with my RPi 3 B+

Output of uname -a:

Code: Select all

Linux navio 4.19.83-emlid-v7+ #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Nov 28 12:44:40 MSK 2019 armv7l GNU/Linux

Output of lsusb:

Code: Select all

Bus 001 Device 005: ID 2357:0120 TP-Link 
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c52b Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMC9514 Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

I've been trying to get my Pi to recognise this thing for a couple of hours now with no luck.

Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated.
Unfortunately I only compile drivers for the Raspbian OS. From your output of command uname -a you are not using Raspbian OS but some other OS so I cannot help other than suggest you visit the Emlid community forum and ask there.

I've had a look at the Emlid community forum and found this https://community.emlid.com/t/building-a-module/65/7 which may help.



MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

MrEngman
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:40 pm

Hi AtlasZeroOne,

I've downloaded and install the Emlid OS on one of my Pi 2 and looks like you're in luck as it looks like I've found a solution for you.

It appears the image includes the 8812au driver for your wifi but that version of the driver does not include the USB ID for your wifi. Seems the image includes the kernel header source so if someone needs to compile any modules it is pretty straight forward, no need to find kernel headers or source.

The really interesting part is that the image also includes the source for the 8812au driver and so it was really simple to add your wifi USB ID to it, recompile the driver and then install the new version with your wifi data included which should enable your wifi to work.

So first you need to add your USB ID to the wifi driver source. So execute the following commands to get to the 8812au driver source directory and set yourself up as root user to edit the necessary file and compile the driver. The USB ID's are configured in file os_dep/linux/usb_intf.c.

Code: Select all

cd /usr/src/8812au-4.2.3
sudo su
nano os_dep/linux/usb_intf.c
where sudo su puts you into root user mode to enable you to edit, compile and install the new version of driver.

Now you need to find the following section of code which is around lines 290-310 or so.

Code: Select all

#ifdef CONFIG_RTL8821A
        /*=== Realtek demoboard ===*/
        {USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDER_ID_REALTEK, 0x0811),.driver_info = RTL8821},/* Default ID */
        {USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDER_ID_REALTEK, 0x0821),.driver_info = RTL8821},/* Default ID */
        {USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDER_ID_REALTEK, 0x8822),.driver_info = RTL8821},/* Default ID */
        /*=== Customer ID ===*/
        {USB_DEVICE(0x7392, 0xA811),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Edimax - Edimax */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x7392, 0xA812),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Edimax - EW-7811UTC */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x7392, 0xA813),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Edimax - EW-7811UAC */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x2001, 0x3314),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* D-Link - Cameo */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0846, 0x9052),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Netgear - A6100 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x2019, 0xAB32),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Planex - GW-450S */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0411, 0x0242),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* BUFFALO - Edimax */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x056E, 0x4007),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* ELECOM - WDC-433DU2H */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x04BB, 0x0953),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* I-O DATA - WN-AC433UA */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0BDA, 0xA811),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* GMYLE - AC450 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x2001, 0x3318),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* D-Link - DWA-172 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x3823, 0x6249),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Obihai - OBiWiFi */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0bda, 0x0823),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* I-O DATA - WNPU583B */
#endif
You now need to add the following line

Code: Select all

        {USB_DEVICE(0x2357, 0x0120),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* TP Link - T2U Plus */
to the end of the block as shown below.

Code: Select all

#ifdef CONFIG_RTL8821A
        /*=== Realtek demoboard ===*/
        {USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDER_ID_REALTEK, 0x0811),.driver_info = RTL8821},/* Default ID */
        {USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDER_ID_REALTEK, 0x0821),.driver_info = RTL8821},/* Default ID */
        {USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDER_ID_REALTEK, 0x8822),.driver_info = RTL8821},/* Default ID */
        /*=== Customer ID ===*/
        {USB_DEVICE(0x7392, 0xA811),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Edimax - Edimax */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x7392, 0xA812),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Edimax - EW-7811UTC */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x7392, 0xA813),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Edimax - EW-7811UAC */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x2001, 0x3314),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* D-Link - Cameo */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0846, 0x9052),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Netgear - A6100 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x2019, 0xAB32),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Planex - GW-450S */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0411, 0x0242),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* BUFFALO - Edimax */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x056E, 0x4007),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* ELECOM - WDC-433DU2H */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x04BB, 0x0953),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* I-O DATA - WN-AC433UA */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0BDA, 0xA811),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* GMYLE - AC450 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x2001, 0x3318),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* D-Link - DWA-172 */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x3823, 0x6249),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* Obihai - OBiWiFi */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x0bda, 0x0823),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* I-O DATA - WNPU583B */
        {USB_DEVICE(0x2357, 0x0120),.driver_info = RTL8821}, /* TP Link - T2U Plus */
#endif
and terminate the nano editor using cntl-X, Y and Enter keys.

Now compile the wifi driver using commands

Code: Select all

make clean
make ARCH=arm
which will take a little time and then you need to install the new driver version using commands

Code: Select all

install -p -m 644 8812au.ko /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless
depmod $(uname -r)
and finally exit from root user mode using exit command to get back to user pi.

Now reboot and hopefully you will now find your wifi driver is working and you should just need to set up the /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file with your wifi details to get a wifi connection.



MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

AtlasZeroOne
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:29 am

Re: TP link Archer T2U AC600 not working

Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:34 pm

Thanks MrEngman!

I followed your instructions and it now works and connects to my wifi network at home :D

I was wondering whether you have any more wisdom that might work for getting this thing running with hostapd?

Trying to run it with the new wifi module sends up the error when I run journalctl -u hostapd:

Code: Select all

nl80211: Could not configure driver mode
I've got a wireless access point running through hostapd on the internal wifi module and on a beat up old wifi dongle from about 10 years back but I got this new one because we need a stronger and further reaching signal for a project we're working on.

I've tried scouring the web for the solution to this but nothing's come up working as of yet.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(I was going to post some of the readouts/config files but wouldn't be 100% sure what info you might need, so if you can help, let me know and I'll get the right info to you)

Return to “Troubleshooting”