raspberry_user

Is Raspberry Pi 4 Model B fully backward compatible with Pi 3 Model B and B+?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:41 pm

Hi, I am new to Raspberry Pi. I am considering to follow some projects which used Raspberry Pi 3 Model B or B+ developed by other users. Will there be a problem if I use the Pi 4 Model B instead? Will I need to modify their programs and perhaps also make some hardware changes?

hippy

Re: Is Raspberry Pi 4 Model B fully backward compatible with Pi 3 Model B and B+?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:24 pm

Depends on what the programs are and how they interface to hardware. If done through libraries you should be okay so long as they are 4B compatible. If direct access you may have to make some changes.

raspberry_user

Re: Is Raspberry Pi 4 Model B fully backward compatible with Pi 3 Model B and B+?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:12 am

I have used Arduino before. Don't know how easy or difficult it is to port projects for Pi3 Model B or B+ to Pi 4 B. On the safe side, is it better to just buy the older 3B or 3B+ version even they are outdated and not the much cheaper than the 4B?

How about compatibility between Pi3 Model B and B+? Supposing that I want to work on two projects. One was developed using the Pi 3B and the other using the Pi3 3B+. If I buy the 3B+, can it be used for projects developed for 3B?

hippy

Fri Feb 14, 2020 12:00 pm

In general all Pi's are compatible with each other, programs which run on one will run on any other providing they don't use anything which is Pi variant specific.

I have devloped Python programs under Windows which run on a Pi 3B and also on a Zero W, and should run on any Pi.

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Fri Feb 14, 2020 12:45 pm

The pi4 is probably the biggest change the Pi lineup has seen since it's initial release.