witenite1

low performance from Raspberry Pi CSI camera

Sat Jan 16, 2021 11:38 pm

Hi,
I have been using the Raspberry Pi products for a couple of years now, and recently purchased a Raspberry Pi 4 (8GB model). As a software developer I have written Go code with two independent forks, the first using GoCV (Golang port or wrapper for the latest version of OpenCV) and also a second fork that does not use GoCV, but rather a webcam driver that utilises V4L2. As of this date (January 2021) my entire tool chain is up to date so I am not using any older versions of anything. the Raspberry Pi is running the latest Raspberry OS (32 bit version as it appears the 64Bit version is still not available except in Beta). I have also tried using Ubuntu MATE and the full blown Ubuntu build for the Raspberry Pi, but I think there may be better hardware support (specifically the CSI port) and hence I have reverted to Raspbian 5.4.83-v7l+

My problem is, no matter what I do I am unable to achieve more than about 4-5 frames per second, and with terrible latency. I have run Raspivid and that appears to be running smoothly, however I am pretty sure it is capturing H.264 compressed video, and this is useless to me for a machine vision project (I need lossless video frames). Nowhere have I been able to find any actual Raspberry Pi specification that clearly states what sort of throughput you can expect to get from the camera (Using the v1 OV5647 device, I have a few of them). I don't know whether I have a software issue or perhaps this is simply the Raspberry Pi tapped out and it is not able to serve up more than 5FPS at 1920*1080 or even 640*480 resolution.

I originally installed GUVCView but could not get it to work regardless of what settings I used. It simply shows a black screen, even when I change the Auto Exposure to manual (as suggested by someone online) and/or set Absolute Exposure to 156 (or anything else). I am using the default image format of YUYV 4:2:2.