thestumbler

Any Updates on the Pi Zero Wifi in South Korea Issue?

Mon Jun 21, 2021 11:04 pm

I have a handful of Raspberry Pi 4s and a 3 which I have been using for a couple of years without incident. I recently dusted off a Raspberry Pi Zero W which I had in a drawer to use on a project which needs the smaller form-factor of the Zero. I've been trying to get it to connect to WiFi for days, digging through many reports of WiFi problems. Finally, last night, I discovered a few threads explaining that there's a bug in the WiFi firmware when your country is set to KR (South Korea). I confirmed that easily, but setting, say GB, I could suddenly see all SSIDs in my environment. But I couldn't connect because a mismatch in country codes, as I would expect.

In this post from 2018, Raspberry Pi engineer spl23 indicated this seemed to be a bug in the WiFi firmware and he contacted the manufacturer to request a fix. What is the status of that fix?

Also, once I do get an internet connection established ( I have a USB-LAN dongle arriving today or tomorrow ), what process is needed to update my Pi Zero to have the latest and greatest on-board firmware? My board details are below.

Code: Select all

cat /proc/device-tree/model
Raspberry Pi Zero W Rev 1.1

fruitoftheloom

Re: Any Updates on the Pi Zero Wifi in South Korea Issue?

Tue Jun 22, 2021 10:09 am

thestumbler wrote:
Mon Jun 21, 2021 11:04 pm