v01d

thinking about interfacing camera modules with raspberry pi

Fri Jul 20, 2012 2:42 am

Hi,
I would like to ask some things to clear up some things I've been thinking. Beware that I'm no expert in electronics so maybe I'm mistaken in some things.

My goal: to build a low-weight stereo camera rig which can be used by the raspberry pi.

For the camera modules, I initially looked up for the OV7670 but I'm now more interested in the MT9M111. These two have the possibility to feed them with an external clock input, which I think is the way to synchronize both cameras (essential for stereo vision). This clock is in the order of 54Mhz for the MT9. The output clock under which pixels are outputed is around 24Mhz for this module. The module simply provides 8 lines (bits). 16 bits consist of a pixel (RGB555, for instance).

Assuming that I solve how to generate the 54Mhz clock signal for both modules (I think there are some ICs that do this), I have one important question (maybe several other simpler ones):

How does one read data from a camera (or camera pair) like this, where I have to read 8 lines simultaneosly at 24MHz? I think the GPIO clock is up to par, right? What would be the required interface to read these lines at that speed and feed them to the RPi? Some kind of intermediate memory? Something using DMA? I'm quite lost with this.

Thank you!

FWIW: if I ever get to produce this, it will be open-source... just to provide some incentive to my question =)

iplayfast

Re: thinking about interfacing camera modules with raspberry

Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:05 pm

I've bought two OV7670 camera boards for a very similar project. These cameras are complete webcams without the usb it seems. I was wondering how you were planning on hooking your's up to the pi?

One thing I found out is that there is a driver for the OV7670. It includes most, if not all of the magic bytes that set things up. I'm confused about how to actually get the pi talking to them, and connecting though.